CELT document E900012

Constitution of Dáil Éireann

Dáil Éireann


Constitution of <term lang="ga" TEIform="term">Dáil Éireann</term>

As approved provisionally January 21st, 1919.

1. First Section:

Dáil Éireann shall possess full powers to legislate and shall be composed of Delegates (Teachtaí) chosen by the people of Ireland from the present constituencies of the country.

2. Second Section:


Full executive powers shall be held at any time by the Ministry (Aireacht) in office at the time.


The Ministry shall be composed of the following: A Prime Minister (Príomh-Aireach) chosen by Dáil Éireann, and four other Ministers, viz.:

  • Minister of Finance (Aireach Airgid),
  • Minister of Home Affairs (A. Gnóthaí Duthchais),
  • Minister of Foreign Affairs (A. Gnóthaí Coigcríoch), and
  • Minister of Defence (A. Cosanta).
The Prime Minister shall nominate the four others, and shall have power to dismiss them from office.


Every Minister must be a member of the Dáil, and shall at all times be answerable to the Dáil.


The names of Ministers must be put before the Dáil for ratification at the first assembly after their nomination by the Prime Minister.

5. Prime Minister

The Prime Minister shall hold office as soon as elected and the other Ministers as soon as their appointment is ratified by the Dáil.


The Dáil shall have power by vote to dismiss the Ministry or any of the Ministers from office if a written order in the form of a unanimous resolution be presented for that object seven days previously.

3. Section Three:

Every meeting of the Dáil shall be presided over by a Chairman (Ceann Cómhairle) or Vice-Chairman (Ceann Ionaid) chosen by the Dáil for the year. Should the Chairman and Vice-Chairman be absent, the Dáil shall select substitutes or elect a Provisional Chairman (Ceann Cómhairle Sealadach).

4. Section Four:

The Ministry shall receive whatever money it needs, by vote of the  p.924 Dáil. The Ministry shall be answerable to the Dáil for such moneys, and the accounts shall be audited with regard to the spending of money for the Dáil twice yearly, viz. at Samhain and Bealtaine (November and May). The auditing shall be carried out by an auditor or auditors chosen by the Dáil. No member of the Dáil shall be chosen as auditor.

5. Section Five:

The present is a provisional constitution, and may be altered on a written unanimous order being given to that effect seven days previously.

Document details

The TEI Header

File description

Title statement

Title (uniform): Constitution of Dáil Éireann

Author: Dáil Éireann

Responsibility statement

Electronic edition compiled by: Audrey Murphy

Edition statement

2. Second draft.

Extent: 987 words

Publication statement

Publisher: CELT: Corpus of Electronic Texts: a project of University College Cork

Address: College Road, Cork, Ireland—http://www.ucc.ie/celt

Date: 2005

Date: 2008

Distributor: CELT online at University College, Cork, Ireland.

CELT document ID: E900012

Availability: Available with prior consent of the CELT programme for purposes of academic research and teaching only.

Source description

Macardle, Dorothy (1937). ‘Constitution of Dáil Éireann’. In: The Irish Republic: a documented chronicle of the Anglo-Irish conflict and the partitioning of Ireland, with a detailed account of the period 1916–1923‍. Ed. by Dorothy Macardle. London: Victor Gollancz Ltd, pp. 925–926.

You can add this reference to your bibliographic database by copying or downloading the following:

  editor 	 = {Dorothy Macardle},
  title 	 = {Constitution of Dáil Éireann},
  author 	 = {Dorothy Macardle},
  booktitle 	 = {The Irish Republic: a documented chronicle of the Anglo-Irish conflict and the partitioning of Ireland, with a detailed account of the period 1916–1923},
  publisher 	 = {Victor Gollancz Ltd},
  address 	 = {London},
  date 	 = {1937},
  pages 	 = {925–926}


Encoding description

Project description: CELT: Corpus of Electronic Texts

Sampling declarations

the whole text.

Editorial declarations

Correction: Text has been proof-read and parsed using SGMLS.Constructive criticism and corrections are welcome and will be credited to scholars making them.

Normalization: The electronic text represents the edited text.

Quotation: There are no quotations.

Hyphenation: Soft hyphens are silently removed. When a hyphenated word (hard or soft) crosses a page-break or line-break, this break is marked after the completion of the hyphenated word.

Segmentation: div0=the whole text; div1=section; div2=subsection. Page-breaks are marked pb n=""/.

Standard values: Dates are standardized in the ISO form yyyy-mm-dd.

Interpretation: Place names, organisational names, and personal names are not tagged.

Reference declaration

The n attribute of each text in this corpus carries a unique identifying number for the whole text.

The title of the text is held as the first head element within each text.

div0 is reserved for the text (whether in one volume or many).

A canonical reference can be constructed from the page number of the text.

Profile description

Creation: by Dáil Éireann.

Date: 1919-01-21

Language usage

  • The whole text is in English apart from 37 words, principally references to institutions and functionaries. (en)
  • 37 words in Irish, principally institutions and functionaries. (ga)

Keywords: political; prose; 20c; law; constitution

Revision description

(Most recent first)

  1. 2011-01-23: Conversion script run, new wordcount made. (ed. Beatrix Färber)
  2. 2008-07-19: Value of div0 "type" attribute modified, minor modifications made to header; keywords added. (ed. Beatrix Färber)
  3. 2005-08-25: Normalised language codes and edited langUsage for XML conversion (ed. Julianne Nyhan)
  4. 2005-08-04T14:41:43+0100: Converted to XML (ed. Peter Flynn)
  5. 2005-02-11: Header updated, file reparsed; HTML file created. (ed. Beatrix Färber)
  6. 1997-02-25: HTML file generated using OmniMark. (ed. Peter Flynn)
  7. 1997-02-25: File parsed using SGMLS. (ed. Mavis Cournane)
  8. 1996-11-17: Header constructed, structural mark-up added, checked and verified. (ed. Donnchadh Ó Corráin)
  9. 1996: Text proofed. (ed. Audrey Murphy)
  10. 1996: Text captured by scanning. (data capture Audrey Murphy)

Index to all documents

Standardisation of values

CELT Project Contacts



For details of the markup, see the Text Encoding Initiative (TEI)

page of the print edition

folio of the manuscript

numbered division

 999 line number of the print edition (in grey: interpolated)

underlining: text supplied, added, or expanded editorially

italics: foreign words; corrections (hover to view); document titles

bold: lemmata (hover for readings)

wavy underlining: scribal additions in another hand; hand shifts flagged with (hover to view)

TEI markup for which a representation has not yet been decided is shown in red: comments and suggestions are welcome.

Source document


Search CELT


    2 Carrigside, College Road, Cork